Belgrade, 15 September 2015

During the General Assembly of ERA, held earlier today at the National Parliament of Serbia, ERA’s Steering Board was elected. Seven individuals that marked the LGBTI activism in the region of Western Balkans and Turkey the past couple of years, were elected as members of this Board with a term of two years.

The role of the Steering Board is to assist ERA and its executive team in achieving the overall goals and objectives of the strategic and action plans, by providing the necessary inputs, suggestions and recommendations for processes and procedures. It also deals with procedural issues, governs the organization and provides advice and assistance to the executive team.

The Steering Board consists of up to seven members who come from the full member organisations of ERA, of whom at least three identify as women and at least three identify as men, while the remaining position is filled by a representative of the other gender identities.

The first ERA Steering Board is consisted of:

Bekim Asani, from LGBT United Tetovo, Macedonia

Biljana Ginova, from LGBTI Support Centre, Macedonia

Jovanka Todorovic, from Labris, Serbia

Ezgi Kocak, from KAOS GL, Turkey

Agim Margilaj, from Cented for Social Group Development, Kosovo

Arber Kodra, from OMSA Albania, Albania, and

Kristian Randjelovic, from Gayten – LGBT, Serbia